This nationally renowned program was created by Act 633 and approved
October 1947 by the Alabama Legislature. It is administered by the
Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs and is governed by the Code
of Alabama 1975, Section 31-6-1. The veteran must meet the following
qualifications to establish eligibility of his/her dependents. A
dependent is defined as a child, stepchild, spouse or the un-remarried
widow (er) of the veteran.
Military Service: The veteran must have honorably served at least 90
days of continuous active federal military service or honorably discharged by reason of
service-connected disability after serving less than 90 days of continuous active federal
Disability Requirements: The veteran must be rated 20% or more due to
service-connected disabilities or have held the qualifying rating at
the time of death, a former prisoner of war (POW), declared missing
in action (MIA), died as the result of a service-connected disability,
or died while on active military service in the line of duty.
Residency Requirements: The veteran must have been a permanent civilian
resident of the State of Alabama for at least one year immediately
prior to (a) the initial entry into active military service or (b)
any subsequent period of military service in which a break (1 year or
more) in service occurred and the Alabama civilian residency was
established. Permanently service-connected veterans rated at 100% who
did not enter service from Alabama, may qualify after establishing at
least five years of permanent residency in Alabama immediately prior to the
filing of an application or immediately prior to death, if deceased.
Student Entitlement: As of Fall 2009, children and stepchildren
of qualified veterans may receive five standard academic years (10 semesters) at any
Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning or a prescribed course of
study at any state-supported technical school without payment of any tuition,
mandatory textbooks or instructional fees.
Additionally, eligible spouses and un-remarried widow(er)s of a qualified veteran rated as
100% permanently and totally disabled may also receive five standard academic years
(10 semesters) at any Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning or a prescribed
course of study at any state-supported technical school without payment of any tuition, mandatory
textbooks or instructional fees.
Exception: As of Fall 2009, a spouse or un-remarried widow (er) of a veteran rated 20% to 90%
disabled is entitled to three standard academic years (6 semesters) without payment of tuition,
mandatory textbooks, and instructional fees or completion of the duration of one prescribed technical
course not to exceed 18 months.
Participants in the program prior to Fall 2009 are eligible for four standard academic years (8 semesters) or
two standard academic years (4 semesters), respectively.
Note: Applicants applying for benefits under the scholarship program beginning on or after Fall 2014
(August 1, 2014) will be eligible for benefits at the in-state and undergraduate tuition rate.
Note: Applicants who were previously denied benefits based solely on the veteran’s peacetime status may re-apply and receive benefits
under the scholarship program to include graduate courses if applicable. Applications for previously denied applicants must be
resubmitted and received at ADVA Headquarters prior to August 1, 2015 in order to receive benefits at this capacity.
Age Deadline: The child or stepchild must initiate training under our program prior to his/her 26th birthday.
In certain situations, a child or stepchild may be eligible for our program up to the age of 30. If the applicant is a stepchild, the veteran and the stepchild’s
parent must be legally married prior to the child’s 19th birthday.
Note: This deadline may be extended for previously denied applicants who were denied based solely on the veteran’s peacetime status.
In order to receive this extension, applications must be resubmitted and received at ADVA Headquarters prior to August 1, 2015.
Application Assistance: The Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs maintains offices throughout the
state which can furnish information and assist you in filing your application. To find your nearest Veterans Service
Office, visit the Veterans Service Office Locator Page for contact options.